Banana and Nutella Loaf Cake

You go to the supermarket with the best intentions, buying loads of fruit and vegetables, dreaming of all the healthy possibilities and then, inevitably, you end up picking up a frozen pizza, chips and some ice cream as you come to the end of your shop. We all do it, and we all have entire fruit bowls going mouldy in the corner of the kitchen. If this isn’t you then I’m sorry, we can’t be friends.

Today was the day I inevitably have to sort through my mouldy fruit bowl, trying to salvage at least some of the food. I found four brown bananas. Not one, not two but FOUR (yes, I have a problem). Fortunately for me and my banana problems, many other people find themselves in similar situations as I found lots of banana cake recipes asking for four over ripe bananas. I cannot take credit for this recipe as for starters, I am English, and I have a very limited grasp on cup measurements, so I was in no way confident of my abilities to do this recipe justice at all. Luckily for me, the lovely lady who wrote this recipe knew what she was on about, and even catered for those of us who realise they have run out of eggs at the last minute and can’t be bothered to go to the shops.

I will not try to type out the recipe again as I do not feel the need to copy. It is laid out really well in this blog post that I will link. See here for the wonderful recipe. I can tell you that the nutella makes all the difference and gives the cake a beautiful marbled affect. I must admit that I did throw all the ingredients in at once bar the nutella, so I may not even have experienced the taste to the fullest, but it is still brilliant for a cake with no eggs.

Again, here’s the recipe if you missed it in the text: Banana and Nutella Loaf Cake. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

